Fire Alarm Testing in the UK: Regulations & Requirements

The installation of a fire detection system in all business premises (as well as regular maintenance and testing) is mandated by the UK government. BS5839 states the regulations and requirements that must be followed to ensure the safety of the workplace. Securing a fire alarm certification after electrical testing is not enough to prevent fires. You also need to understand BS5839 to keep your premises safe and compliant. Here are the important things you need to know about regulations and requirements in fire alarm testing in the UK.

3 Types of Fire Alarms

The three main types of fire alarms that are recommended by the government are conventional, addressable, and wireless fire alarms. Each type is ideal for specific applications and environments. Conventional fire alarms are suitable for smaller buildings while addressable fire alarms work better in schools and hospitals. Wireless fire alarms, on the other hand, are better installed in areas where there shouldn’t be any wire exposures, such as churches and museums.

Fire Alarm Grades and Categories

Fire alarm grades range from A to F, while there are only 2 fire alarm categories. The grades determine the construction of the fire alarm system while the categories indicate the areas of the building where it should be installed. Fire alarm systems with grades A to C are wired together and have a central fire alarm panel. Meanwhile, fire alarms with grades D to F are not wired but have a backup supply of power.

Fire Alarm Testing

During the test, you should check whether the fire alarm panel is operating normally. Fire detectors are ideally checked at least once a year. As for the fixed wiring of the fire alarm system, a periodic testing is advised.

It is your responsibility to make sure that your fire alarm systems are in good working condition. Be sure to contact a professional fire engineer for regular check-ups.

Add Comment